Ant-Man | Parent Movie Reviews | | My No-Guilt Life

Ant-Man | Parent Movie Reviews

If you haven’t seen Marvel’s Ant-Man, it’s time! Be sure to watch this before Ant-Man and the Wasp comes out on July 7. This is part of my Marvel Parent Movie Reviews: know if the newest Marvel Avengers movie is appropriate for your little superhero before you go! 

 

 

 

If you haven’t caught up on all the Marvel movies just yet: what are you waiting for! It’s time to get on that!

Here are a few lists of Marvel movies to watch in order. If you get started now, you’ll be set by the time Ant-Man and the Wasp hits theaters this summer.

I’ve also got a preview post talking about Avengers: Infinity War parent movie reviews as well. Is this one going to be kid-friendly? I have thoughts on the probability.

 

Ant-Man Parent Movie Reviews

Full disclosure on my nerd-limits:  I didn’t know a whole lot about this movie.  I knew it starred Paul Rudd and that he shrunk to the size of an ant… and that was about it.  It was really all I needed to know though.

Because:  Paul Rudd.

 

SAN DIEGO, CA - JULY 26: Actor Paul Rudd onstage at Marvel's Hall H Panel for "Ant-Man" during Comic-Con International 2014 at San Diego Convention Center on July 26, 2014 in San Diego, California. (Photo by Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for Disney)

SAN DIEGO, CA – JULY 26: Actor Paul Rudd onstage at Marvel’s Hall H Panel for “Ant-Man” during Comic-Con International 2014 at San Diego Convention Center on July 26, 2014 in San Diego, California. (Photo by Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for Disney)

 

He’s one of my favorite actors and I hoped that turning him into an action hero wouldn’t affect his dry wit and comedic timing.  Thor is funny, so  Ant-Man can be too, right?

I was not disappointed.  In fact, I was pleasantly surprised that this movie was hilarious!

If you love to laugh, if you love action, and if you love the age-old story of good vs evil, then you will love Ant-Man.

 

antman 1

 

The movie starts with Scott Lang (Paul Rudd) leaving prison after a stint for burglary.  He’s not a bad guy, exactly: he saw a wrong that needed to be righted and took action.  It just happened to be illegal, so, you know, he ends up in prison.

On the outside, he meets his ex-cellmate, Luis (the adorable Micheal Peña), and is clear about one thing: no more crime.  He wants to get back into his daughter’s life and knows the only way is by going straight.

 

Marvel's Ant-Man Luis (Michael Peña) Photo Credit: Film Frame © Marvel 2014

Marvel’s Ant-Man
Luis (Michael Peña)
Photo Credit: Film Frame
© Marvel 2014

 

After trying his best to make it in the legit world, Scott is broken down and agrees to one last burglary.  It doesn’t go as planned.

This decision leads to Scott meeting Dr. Hank Pym (Michael Douglas) and his daughter Hope (Evangeline Lilly) who help him embrace his inner hero.

By donning a special suit created by Dr. Pym, Scott becomes stronger & faster, despite shrinking to the size of an ant.

 

Marvel's Ant-Man Scott Lang/Ant-Man (Paul Rudd) Photo Credit: Zade Rosenthal © Marvel 2014

Marvel’s Ant-Man
Scott Lang/Ant-Man (Paul Rudd)
Photo Credit: Zade Rosenthal
© Marvel 2014

 

Armed with the suit and the help of his crew (including Luis, Dr. Pym, and Hope) he attempts a heist that will save the world.

This movie sparked a lot of laughs from the audience- mostly thanks to Rudd.  He absolutely can pull off being an action star and still make you laugh.  Yeah- he is just that perfect!

Here’s where my lack of knowledge of the storyline can help YOU prepare for the movie:  yes, the movie is called Ant-Man and I assumed it was only referring to the size that Scott shrinks to.

But what I didn’t realize is that he utilizes ants in his schemes.  They are his allies and helpers throughout the action sequences.

 

Marvel's Ant-Man Scott Lang/Ant-Man (Paul Rudd) amongst his ants. Photo Credit: Film Frame © Marvel 2015

Marvel’s Ant-Man
Scott Lang/Ant-Man (Paul Rudd) amongst his ants.
Photo Credit: Film Frame
© Marvel 2015

 

I mention this in case you are squeamish about insects.  There’s a lot of them in the movie.

We watched it in IMAX 3-D which meant they were also large and practically in our laps!  It wasn’t terrifying (hey- they are the good guys!) but I felt it was important to share just in case this kind of thing makes you uncomfortable.

Every actor in this movie was delightful.  There is not a weak performance to be found.

 

Marvel's Ant-Man Hope van Dyne (Evangeline Lilly) Photo Credit: Zade Rosenthal © Marvel 2015

Marvel’s Ant-Man
Hope van Dyne (Evangeline Lilly)
Photo Credit: Zade Rosenthal
© Marvel 2015

 

I especially enjoyed the relationship between Douglas and Lilly as a father and daughter with a troubled past.  They have issues that need to be resolved- possibly in a future spinoff!

As a fan of the Marvel Avengers franchise, I was thrilled to see a few familiar faces (and some hilarious one-liners) that fellow fans will appreciate.  As always- stay through to the end of the credits!

Oh- and watch for Stan Lee’s cameo at the end.  It was stupid funny.  (You’ll get it after you watch the movie).

Marvel’s “Ant-Man” stars Paul Rudd as Scott Lang aka Ant-Man, Evangeline Lilly as Hope Van Dyne, Corey Stoll as Darren Cross aka Yellowjacket, Bobby Cannavale as Paxton, Michael Peña as Luis, Tip “T.I.” Harris as Dave, Wood Harris as Gale, Judy Greer as Maggie, David Dastmalchian as Kurt, and Michael Douglas as Dr. Hank Pym. Directed by Peyton Reed and produced by Kevin Feige, p.g.a., Marvel’s “Ant-Man” delivers a high-stakes, tension-filled adventure on July 17, 2015.

 

Marvels Ant-Man Parent Movie Reviews

My children are 15, 12, 11 and 6. Here are my recommendations for each age based on my children’s maturity levels.

Teen/Tweens Should be good to go.  Unless they are highly sensitive, children in this age range will be able to follow the story and enjoy it. There is fighting and violence because it’s an action movie. I plan on taking my three older children to this movie.

8 to 10-years old Depends greatly on the maturity level. If they have seen and understood the previous Marvel movies, these superhero lovers probably going to be fine.

If your child of this age is highly sensitive, you may want to avoid the movie or screen it ahead of time. Think ants- BIG ones.

And I’d possibly avoid 3-D movies at this age, however. It can make the whole experience a bit more intense! My screening was an IMAX 3-D experience, so, yes… intense!

7 and Under  I say, “proceed with caution” in this age range. I’d mostly say don’t do it, but there are exceptions of course. Most likely it’s not appropriate for your kid, I mean, it’s got a PG-13 rating for a reason.

It is rated PG-13 due to violence and adult themes so a child who only watches Thomas the Tank Engine is probably not ready for this one. Even though Thomas the Tank Engine is actually IN this movie!

 

Need more Marvel Parent Movie Reviews?

Avengers: Age of Ultron Parent Movie Review

Is Black Panther Kid Friendly? Parent Movie Review

 

What would you do if you could shrink to the size of an ant?  Is this your idea of a perfect superpower?

Images courtesy Walt Disney Studios. Used with permission.

Media tickets to an advanced screening were provided in exchange for an honest review.

Patty Holliday is a Marvel loving, Disney obsessed wife, and mother of four. She’s a travel agent specializing in Disney & Universal vacations- and loves a candid confession. Find her in Virginia (or anywhere frequent flyer miles or her trusty minivan takes her.)

Comments

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Patty Holliday


Patty is a 40-ish mother of four living in Virginia. A bit geeky, sometimes sarcastic, lover of a candid confession. She's trying to love running, she swears. But much like her marathon, it’s taking a very long time. Ahem. She's searching for the perfect way to balance family, work, travel, and fitness. Perfect defined as high on fun, low on guilt.

Copyright 2018, My No-Guilt Life | by Patty Holliday | Privacy Policy