Ralph Breaks the Internet Parent Movie Review | | My No-Guilt Life

Ralph Breaks the Internet Parent Movie Review

The big guy is back! After 6 years of playing in Litwak’s arcade, Ralph and Vanellope embark on a new adventure, one that takes them into the Internet for the first time. That’s right: INTO the INTERNET. AKA, something I would love to see myself! But is Ralph Breaks the Internet safe for kids? Here’s my Ralph Breaks the Internet parent movie review letting you know how family friendly the movie is before you take the kids.

 

Confession: I wasn’t a Wreck-It Ralph fan. In fact, I hadn’t even seen the first movie!

But my opinion and interest did a 180 degree turn when I sat in the Ralph Breaks the Internet Animation panel at D23 Expo

 

PHIL JOHNSTON, SARAH SILVERMAN, RICH MOORE D23 Expo Ralph Breaks the Internet

D23 EXPO 2017 – Friday, July 14, 2017 – The Ultimate Disney Fan Event – brings together all the worlds of Disney under one roof for three packed days of presentations, pavilions, experiences, concerts, sneak peeks, shopping, and more. The event, which takes place July 14-16 at the Anaheim Convention Center, provides fans with unprecedented access to Disney films, television, games, theme parks, and celebrities. (Disney/Image Group LA)
PHIL JOHNSTON, SARAH SILVERMAN, RICH MOORE

 

There was this one scene- you might have heard me gush a bit over it?- that totally hooked me. I needed to know everything about Ralph, Vanellope, and their next big adventure. 

I’ve seen Ralph Breaks the Internet twice (once was at the red carpet premiere of Ralph Breaks the Internet if you want to read about that amazing experience!) and can honestly say I’ve only “seen” 1/5th of what is happening on screen.

This is a big movie, with a lot of action, jokes, easter eggs and more. But is Ralph Breaks the Internet safe for kids? Here’s my Ralph Breaks the Internet parent movie review.

IMPORTANT PSA: Stay until the very end of the credits. Guys, it’s not a Marvel movie, but you gotta pretend it is. And the credits are crazy long (so if you need a potty break, go after the mid-credits scene; you’ll have time before the last stinger!).

 

 

Ralph Breaks the Internet Parent Movie Review

With every animated movie that comes out, I wonder just how kid appropriate they might be. I want to say they are ALL great for kids, but that’s not always the case. 

Sometimes I feel like, in an effort to keep the parents from being bored, the movie makers push the edges of the kid-friendliness. Which can make a mom cringe, even when her kiddo totally missed the inappropriate jokes. 

I had high hopes for Ralph Breaks the Internet and, parents, it did not disappoint. My Ralph Breaks the Internet parent movie review summed up: TAKE THE KIDS! 

With a few exceptions (I’ll cover below) Ralph Breaks the Internet is family-friendly and kid-safe for all ages. 

 

Ralph Breaks the Internet: Wreck-It Ralph 2

INTO THE INTERNET – In “Ralph Breaks the Internet: Wreck-It Ralph 2,” Vanellope von Schweetz and Wreck-It Ralph leave the arcade world behind to explore the uncharted and thrilling world of the internet. In this image, Vanellope and Ralph have a breathtaking view of the world wide web, a seemingly never-ending metropolis filled with websites, apps and social media networks. On a quest to save Vanellope’s game, how will these two misfits ever succeed in this vast new world? Featuring the voices of Sarah Silverman as Vanellope and John C. Reilly as Ralph, Walt Disney Animation Studios’ “Ralph Breaks the Internet: Wreck-It Ralph 2” opens in U.S. theaters on Nov. 21, 2018. ©2018 Disney. All Rights Reserved.

 

Ralph Breaks the Internet Synopsis

 


RALPH BREAKS THE INTERNET, video-game bad guy Ralph (voice of John C. Reilly) and best friend Vanellope von Schweetz (voice of Sarah Silverman) leave the comforts of Litwak’s arcade in an attempt to save her game, Sugar Rush.

Their quest takes them to the vast, uncharted world of the internet where they rely on the citizens of the internet—the Netizens—to help navigate their way. Lending a virtual hand are Yesss (voice of Taraji P. Henson), the head algorithm and the heart and soul of the trend-making site “BuzzzTube,” and Shank (voice of Gal Gadot), a tough-as-nails driver from a gritty online auto-racing game called Slaughter Race, a place Vanellope wholeheartedly embraces—so much so that Ralph worries he may lose the only friend he’s ever had. 

 

Ralph Breaks the Internet Review

Is this the best movie of the year? For my family, it’s right up there! We all loved it for different reasons.

Combining genius writing, beautiful animation, and a story with heart makes Ralph Breaks the Internet not only a highly entertaining and hilarious movie but also one with a message (or two!) tucked in there. 

 

RALPH BREAKS THE INTERNET Parental Movie Review Ralph and Vanellope

BEST FRIENDS – In “Ralph Breaks the Internet,” video game bad guy Ralph and his best buddy Vanellope journey to the internet in search of a replacement part for her game. Vanellope wholeheartedly embraces this new world, while Ralph can’t wait to go home to their comfortable lives. Directed by Rich Moore and Phil Johnston, and produced by Clark Spencer, “Ralph Breaks the Internet” opens in U.S. theaters on Nov. 21, 2018. ©2018 Disney. All Rights Reserved.

 

Ralph and Vanellope’s friendship is tested, and this is something parents can discuss with their children at length. Ralph Breaks the Internet parent movie review: there’s not much higher praise than a movie that allows robust family discussion afterward.

We laughed; we cried a little; and we had plenty to talk about with the kids on the way home.

The Internet: it’s a magical place, but there are certain things that parents need to keep addressing with their children. 

Topics that are hit on in a big way include going viral and reading the comment section when you do. #Ouch 

It may never happen, but as users of the Internet, it’s important to remember that real people are on the other side of those comments. 

 

RALPH BREAKS THE INTERNET parent movie review YESSS

NUMBERS GAME – In Walt Disney Animation Studios’ “Ralph Breaks the Internet,” Ralph and Vanellope find themselves in need of making some serious cash in order to purchase a replacement steering wheel for her game, Sugar Rush. Fortunately, a Netizen named Yesss—the head algorithm of a trend-making website called BuzzzTube—has a plan. Yesss, who has her finger on the internet’s fast-paced pulse, helps make Ralph the next viral video sensation. Featuring the voices of Taraji P. Henson as Yesss, and Flula Borg (YouTube personality DJ Flula) as her assistant Maybe, “Ralph Breaks the Internet” opens in theaters Nov. 21, 2018. ©2018 Disney. All Rights Reserved.

 

Ralph Breaks the Internet Princess Scene

Yes, I am going to talk about this scene in my Ralph Breaks the Internet parent movie review.

Again.

I know, I know. But… I love it, even more, each time I see it.

The narrative of what makes a Princess special is changing, my friends. And as a mom of 2 daughters, I’m so happy to see it. 

 

selfie ralph breaks the internet princesses

SELFIE! – In “Ralph Breaks the Internet,” Vanellope von Schweetz hits the internet where she encounters and then befriends the Disney princesses. Filmmakers invited the original voice talent to return to the studio to help bring their characters to life, including Sarah Silverman (Vanellope in “Ralph Breaks the Internet”), Auli‘i Cravalho (“Moana”), Kristen Bell (Anna in “Frozen”), Idina Menzel (Elsa in “Frozen”), Kelly MacDonald (Merida in “Brave”), Mandy Moore (Rapunzel in “Tangled”), Anika Noni Rose (Tiana in “The Princess and the Frog”), Ming-Na Wen (“Mulan”), Irene Bedard (“Pocahontas”), Linda Larkin (Jasmine in “Aladdin”), Paige O’Hara (Belle in “Beauty and the Beast”), and Jodi Benson (Ariel in “The Little Mermaid”). ©2018 Disney. All Rights Reserved.

 

The Ralph Breaks the Internet Princess Scene is EVERYTHING and I was able to tell the writer of the scene just that a few weeks ago.

And in return, she was able to share a few secrets from behind the scene, so we all won that day!

Plus: there’s more of Princesses in Ralph Breaks the Internet than what you’ve seen so far. They literally change the course of the typical “Disney Princess gets saved by a big strong man” fairytale. 

And I am HERE FOR IT.

 

“Ralph Breaks the Internet: Wreck It Ralph 2 Princess Scene

ROYAL REUNION – In “Ralph Breaks the Internet: Wreck It Ralph 2,” Vanellope von Schweetz—along with her best friend Ralph—ventures into the uncharted world of the internet. When she finds herself surrounded by Disney princesses, she’s surprised to learn that she actually has a lot in common with them. The scene, highlighted in a new trailer for the film, features several of the original princess voices, including Auli‘i Cravalho (“Moana”), Kristen Bell (Anna in “Frozen”), Idina Menzel (Elsa in “Frozen”), Kelly MacDonald (Merida in “Brave”), Mandy Moore (Rapunzel in “Tangled”), Anika Noni Rose (Tiana in “The Princess and the Frog”), Ming-Na Wen (“Mulan”), Irene Bedard (“Pocahontas”), Linda Larkin (Jasmine in “Aladdin”), Paige O’Hara (Belle in “Beauty and the Beast”) and Jodi Benson (Ariel in “The Little Mermaid”). Featuring Sarah Silverman as the voice of Vanellope, “Ralph Breaks the Internet: Wreck It Ralph 2” opens in theaters nationwide Nov. 21, 2018…©2018 Disney. All Rights Reserved.

 

But this moment in the Princess green room was so well written on a comedic level and if you dig a little deeper, there’s more going on. So much more. And it doesn’t really take a lot of digging. 

Pamela Ribon, the creator of this scene, said something that stood out to me. 

You hope you have a room that appreciates what you’re bringing to the table. – Pamela Ribon

I took this as meaning more than just trying to get a scene approved! 

As a parent, this resonated. I hope I’m enough, I hope my kids see it, I hope they appreciate the lessons lovingly given. 

Okay… back to the movie and discussing if Ralph Breaks the Internet is safe for kids!

 

The Action in Ralph Breaks the Internet

There’s a lot going on here and the action scenes are no different. Here’s where things might get a little questionable for some parents in my Ralph Breaks the Internet parent movie review.

Think gritty video game level action- and not the cute Sugar Rush video game either. 

Remember: Ralph is in the Internet, which means things are going to look a lot different than the 80s era arcade of Litwak’s!

 

RALPH BREAKS THE INTERNET parent movie review shank and crew

THE RACE IS ON – When video-game bad guy Ralph and Vanellope head to the internet in search of a replacement part for her game, Sugar Rush, they find themselves in the middle of Slaughter Race, an online racing game set in an apocalyptic world that’s populated by first-person players and gaming characters. As a racer herself, Vanellope is immediately drawn to this fierce and fun crew of racers who, unlike in other racing games, are much more multidimensional than at first glance. Among the core team of game characters in Slaughter Race are Felony (voice of Ali Wong), Butcher Boy (voice of Timothy Simons), Shank (voice of Gal Gadot), Little Debbie (voice of Glozell Green) and Pyro (voice of Hamish Blake). “Ralph Breaks the Internet” opens in U.S. theaters on Nov. 21, 2018. ©2018 Disney. All Rights Reserved.

 

The Slaughter Race scenes are mild for a game of this level, but definitely more intense than Fix-It Felix ever was! 

It’s not awful, but just be aware if you have a highly sensitive kid. Explosions and fast car races, a vicious dog and a great white shark all play roles in this game. But the characters of the game all have a heart of gold!

 

The Villain of Ralph Breaks the Internet

There always has to be a bad guy, right? 

Wrong. 

There’s not really one in this movie. I don’t want to give it all away, but the closest we come to a villain is a morphing of one of the characters. They don’t become bad, exactly, but they do some kinda scary things. 

 

RALPH BREAKS THE INTERNET parent movie review with Double Dan

VIRUS ALERT – In “Ralph Breaks the Internet,” Vanellope befriends a tough and talented driver in an intense online racing game, leaving Ralph feeling left out, confused and willing to do anything to preserve his friendship with Vanellope. But even with the best intentions, Ralph’s efforts don’t always go as planned—particularly when he enlists the help of Double Dan, the proprietor of the dark web’s apothecary. Massive, slimy and decidedly creepy with a second head called Little Dan tucked into his neck folds, Double Dan formulates destructive viruses. Featuring John C. Reilly as the voice of Ralph, and Alfred Molina as the voice of Double Dan, “Ralph Breaks the Internet” opens in U.S. theaters Nov. 21, 2018. ©2018 Disney. All Rights Reserved.

 

This part of the movie is where I got a little uncomfortable and frankly, a little grossed out. The animation is that good, but it’s just… well, a weird scene. 

Nothing that should give nightmares, but you might have a young kid crawling up into your lap when a virus is introduced into the Internet. 

 

As Cap says, Language!

There isn’t any straight up bad language in Ralph Breaks the Internet. 

There’s a lot of talk of butts, farts, and burping. Potty humor makes an appearance with “dooty/duty” puns.

But none of the big swear words make an appearance. 

If you don’t like the word butt, then consider yourself warned. But if you’ve seen Wreck-It Ralph, then you know pretty much where this is going. 

 

Ralph Breaks the Internet Parent Movie Review By Age

My children are 15, 13, 11 and 7. Here are my Ralph Breaks the Internet parent movie review recommendations for each age based on my children’s maturity levels.

So you want to know if Ralph Breaks the Internet is kid friendly? I’ve outlined the few exceptions above that could give you pause. But overall, I’d say TAKE THE FAMILY.

 

8 to 10-years old 

Depends on the overall maturity level but I’d say most kids this age will be good seeing Ralph Breaks the Internet. Especially if they are entering the world of Internet usage themselves.

If your child of this age is highly sensitive, you may want to screen it ahead of time, but I’m thinking on the more sensitive end of things. There is some creep factor in here. But I really can’t think of too many kids this age that wouldn’t be perfectly delighted with this movie.

7 and Under  

I’d mostly say do it! But there are exceptions of course. Most likely it’s going to be appropriate for your kid, but keep in mind the PG rating in case you are overly cautious with what kids this age watch.

It is rated PG due to video game related violence and some harsh language so a child who only watches Thomas the Tank Engine is on the fence here.

 

Ralph Breaks the Internet A GOOD MOVIE FOR TWEENS?

My oldest are 15, 13, and 11. And they were OG Wreck-It Ralph fans. There was no way I was getting away with leaving them at home.

Is Ralph Breaks the Internet a good movie for tweens? Yup. 

In some ways, this movie is ideal for this age range. The kids are internet savvy in this age group and they had to explain some of the jokes to ME. 

But there are a lot of important takeaways about Internet usage that are slipped in here. Perfect for a family “how to use the Internet safely” discussion on the ride home. 

I hope this Ralph Breaks the Internet parent movie review helps you decide if the movie is kid friendly and family friendly for your whole crew to go see it this weekend!

You can read more parent movie reviews here.

 

 

More Ralph Breaks The Internet Posts You’ll Love

Hottest Ralph Breaks The Internet Toys For Christmas

 

List of Comfy Princess Shirt Sayings From Ralph Breaks the Internet

Pulling off a Red Carpet Princess Disneybound | #RalphBreakstheInternetEvent

The VOID VR | Coolest Thing Ever! Ralph Breaks VR Experience

Patty Holliday is a Marvel loving, Disney obsessed wife, and mother of four. She’s a travel agent specializing in Disney & Universal vacations- and loves a candid confession. Find her in Virginia (or anywhere frequent flyer miles or her trusty minivan takes her.)

Comments

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Patty Holliday


Patty is a 40-ish mother of four living in Virginia. A bit geeky, sometimes sarcastic, lover of a candid confession. She's trying to love running, she swears. But much like her marathon, it’s taking a very long time. Ahem. She's searching for the perfect way to balance family, work, travel, and fitness. Perfect defined as high on fun, low on guilt.

Copyright 2018, My No-Guilt Life | by Patty Holliday | Privacy Policy